Stewart McKelvey

Vol 4 Issue 1 Spring 2014

Issue link: http://digital.canadianlawyermag.com/i/259663

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 7

Stewart McKelvey proudly celebrates over twenty years of innovative leadership as Atlantic Canada's fi rst and largest regional law fi rm. With a distinguished heritage reaching back to Canada's confederation, our law fi rm has established an international reputation for generating results. More than 220 lawyers and over 300 staff in our six locations have a single objective: the best results for our clients. Charlottetown, pE 65 grafton St., p.O. Box 2140 Charlottetown, pE C1A 1K8 phone: 902.892.2485 Fax: 902.566.5283 charlottetown@stewartmckelvey.com Fredericton, nB Suite 600, Frederick Square, 77 Westmorland St. p.O. Box 730 Fredericton, nB E3B 6Z3 phone: 506.458.1970 Fax: 506.444.8974 fredericton@stewartmckelvey.com Halifax, nS Suite 900, purdy's Wharf Tower One 1959 Upper Water St., p.O. Box 997, Halifax, nS B3J 3n2 phone: 902.420.3200 Fax: 902.420.1417 halifax@stewartmckelvey.com Moncton, nB Suite 601, Blue Cross Centre, 644 Main St. p.O. Box 28051, Moncton, nB E1C 1E2 phone: 506.853.1970 Fax: 506.858.8454 moncton@stewartmckelvey.com Saint John, nB Suite 1000, Brunswick House, p.O. Box 7289, postal Station A 44 Chipman Hill, Saint John, nB E2L 2A9 phone: 506.632.1970 Fax: 506.652.1989 saint-john@stewartmckelvey.com St. John's, nL Suite 1100, Cabot place, 100 new gower St. p.O. Box 5038, St. John's, nL A1C 6K3 phone: 709.722.4270 Fax: 709.722.4565 st-johns@stewartmckelvey.com member approval is required. The corporation must replace its letters patent, supplementary letters pat- ent (if any) and bylaws with new charter documents which comply with the New Act. The corporation must submit articles of continuance, forms con- fi rming the initial registered offi ce and fi rst directors of the corporation, and a name search confi rmation. Bylaws which are in compliance with the New Act can be submitted either as part of the initial package, or within 12 months of continuance following ap- proval by the members. Following a successful transition under the New Act, all registered charities (including those who have not amended their purposes and even those who have obtained pre-approval from the Canada Revenue Agency) must submit the certifi cate of con- tinuance, articles of continuance, various fi ling forms as well as a copy of the current bylaws and statement of purposes to the Canada Revenue Agency. As we're down to a matter of months before the transition deadline of October 17, 2014, any corpor- ation incorporated under the Old Act should turn their attention to their continuance under the New Act, so as to avoid an involuntary dissolution. Kimberly Bungay, staff lawyer Halifax, n.s. 902.420.3366 kbungay@stewartmckelvey.com Alanna Waberski, associate saint John, n.B. 506.632.2792 awaberski@stewartmckelvey.com Sarah Almon, associate saint John, n.B. 506.632.2786 salmon@stewartmckelvey.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Stewart McKelvey - Vol 4 Issue 1 Spring 2014