Canadian Lawyer InHouse

December/January 2021

Legal news and trends for Canadian in-house counsel and c-suite executives

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 25 of 43

24 TOP 10 PRAIRIE LAW FIRMS MCKERCHER LLP BARRISTERS & SOLICITORS SASKATOON | 306.653.2000 REGINA | 306.565.6500 We see innovation in hardship. We see beauty in the struggle to succeed. We understand the intrinsic nature of innovation that is required to survive in business in our province. With local roots tracing back to 1926, we know Saskatchewan and how success is driven by innovation ... naturally. SASKATCHEWAN Verdient Foods, Saskatchewan Polytechnic, Baydo Development Corporation, Wal-Mart Canada Corp., Overwaitea Food Group (Save- On-Foods), Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority, Input Capital Corp., 49 North Resources, Redhead Equipment Group Notable mandates: Acted for Input Capital in a one-of-a-kind private placement of shares offering used to fund canola streaming contracts for farmers seeking capital; acted for Wright Construction Western Inc. and its parent in financial close of the Saskatchewan Joint-Use Schools Project, which included 18 elementary schools and nine joint-use facilities in the province; is current exclusive legal services sponsor and partner to Co.Labs, Saskatchewan's first technology incubator for startups; acted for Fortis Properties Corpora- tion in the disposition of 22 hotels; acted for Crown Investments Corporation of Saskatch- ewan in the privatization of Information Services Corporation; one of two negotiators for 50 Catholic entities parties to the Indian Residential School Settlement Class Action Star alumni: Former Supreme Court of Canada justice Emmett Hall; Federal Court of Appeal Justice Denis Pelletier; Federal Court of Canada Justice Paul Favel; Former Saskatchewan Court of Appeal Justice Percy Maguire; Saskatchewan Court of Appeal Justice Peter Whitmore; Former Saskatch- ewan Court of Queen's Bench chief justice R. D. Laing; Saskatchewan Court of Queen's Bench justices Neil G. Gabrielson, Daniel B. Konkin and Richard W. Elson; Provincial Court of Saskatchewan Judge Shannon Metivier, and Saskatchewan Deputy Premier and former attorney general Gordon Wyant Affiliations: Lawyers Associated Worldwide, Risk Management Counsel of Canada, Employment Law Alliance The firm: Since 1926, played an integral role in Saskatchewan's most significant commer- cial projects, leading litigation cases that have shaped Canadian law. As one of Saskatchewan's largest and most estab- lished law firms, McKercher LLP and its lawyers are well versed in the economic, social and regulatory environment of Saskatchewan. 8. Miller Thomson Total lawyers (in Saskatchewan offices): 39 Offices (with # of lawyers): Regina (25), Saskatoon (14) Core practice areas: Industry-leading practice in Agribusiness and food production. Other key specialties: capital markets, securities and M&A, financial services, restructuring, construc- tion, mining, real estate, municipal, corporate, corporate tax/private client services/social impact, energy/environmental/natural resources, Aboriginal, cannabis, entertainment and media, gaming, transportation and logistics, IP/IT, labour and employment, litigation, insurance defense, emerging business (startups to scaling to commercialization), data privacy and cybersecurity. The firm: As one of Canada's leading national law firms, Miller Thomson provides services from 12 business centres across the country, with five western offices and coverage from Manitoba to B.C. The firm's 550 lawyers represent public and private corporations, financial institutions, governments, not-for- profit organizations and entrepreneurs, and they take pride in being responsive to clients' needs — whatever their size, location, legal requirements and industry sector. The firm proactively works with clients to help them realize greater efficiencies and cost savings through innovative pricing strategies, a legal project management discipline and other tools that enhance transparency and service delivery. Star Alumni: William Thomas Molloy (lieutenant governor of Saskatchewan); R. James Balfour (member of Parliament for Regina East, Saskatchewan and senator); Kenneth Roy MacLeod (Saskatchewan Court of Queen's Bench); Stuart John Cameron (Saskatchewan Court of Queen's Bench, Saskatchewan Court of Appeal); William Vancise (Saskatchewan Court of Queen's Bench, Saskatchewan Court of Appeal, Northwest Territories Supreme Court); Brian J. Scherman (Saskatchewan Court of Queen's

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Canadian Lawyer InHouse - December/January 2021